Summary of “Singin’ in the Rain”

The name of my film for this week is “Singin’ in the Rain” starring Gene Kelly, Donald O’Connor, and Debbie Reynolds. The IMDb link is http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0045152/?ref_=sr_1. This film was directed by Stanley Donen and Gene Kelly (1952).

This story takes place in Hollywood during the 1920’s and Cinema’s change into talking motion pictures. Don Lockwood and Lina Lamont are two of Hollywood’s most famous actors. They have been portrayed as a power couple by the local pop culture magazines, but in reality Don hates Lina. Lina a diva in her own right is perfect for silent pictures but as the studio starts shooting “talkies” Lina is discoverd to have terrible voice for them. Don one day runs into Kathy Selden, a woman who is both beautiful on the outside and has a wonderful voice. Naturally Don and Kathy fall in love and with Don’s best friend and studio musician Cosmo Brown’s help they are able to make Kathy into a star she has always aspired to be.

I watched this movie at home after I was able to track it down from Hastings. I chose this film because I think of it as the trademark musical and one the most famous of all time. I am not much of a musical lover but overall the movie was entertaining as I am sure it was designed to be, and had a really simple love story as it’s plot. Like I said musicals are sometimes boring or even annoying to sit through but I honestly enjoyed “Singin’ in the Rain.” I would recommend this film to anyone who is looking to spend an hour or so entertained with classic American music and cinema.

Leave a comment